Stormcaster (Shattered Realms #3)

Cinda Williams Chima is one of my favorite authors and I am so excited to read this book.  It was launched on April 3, 2018.  Read the descriptions and let me know what you think.


Description from Goodreads:

The third book in the thrilling four-book Shattered Realms series from New York Times bestselling author Cinda Williams Chima

The empress in the east—the unspeakably cruel ruler whose power grew in Flamecaster and Shadowcaster—tightens her grip in this chilling third installment in the series.

Vagabond seafarer Evan Strangward can move the ocean and the wind, but his magical abilities seem paltry in comparison to Empress Celestine’s. As Celestine’s bloodsworn armies grow, Evan travels to the Fells to warn the queendom of her imminent invasion. If he can’t convince the Gray Wolf queen to take a stand, he knows that the Seven Realms will fall. Among the dead will be the one person Evan can’t stand to lose.

Meanwhile, the queen’s formidable daughter, Princess Alyssa ana’Raisa, is already a prisoner aboard the empress’s ship. Lyss may be the last remaining hope of bringing down the empress from within her own tightly controlled territory.

Multiple intricately interwoven storylines converge in this gripping novel about a brave, coordinated effort to undermine a horrific tyrant.

Other Books in this Series

Book 1


Description from Goodreads:

A burning vengeance.

Adrian sul’Han, known as Ash, is a trained healer with a powerful gift of magic—and a thirst for revenge. The son of the queen of the Fells, Ash is forced into hiding after a series of murders throws the queendom into chaos. Now Ash is closer than he’s ever been to killing the man responsible, the cruel king of Arden. As a healer, can Ash use his powers not to save a life but to take it?

A blood-based curse.

Abandoned at birth, Jenna Bandelow was told the mysterious magemark on the back of her neck would make her a target. But when the King’s Guard launches a relentless search for a girl with a mark like hers, Jenna assumes that it has more to do with her role as a saboteur than any birth-based curse. Though Jenna doesn’t know why she’s being hunted, she knows that she can’t get caught.

Destiny’s fiery hand.

Eventually, Ash’s and Jenna’s paths will collide in Arden. Thrown together by chance and joined by their hatred of the king, they will come to rescue each other in ways they cannot yet imagine.

Set in the world of the acclaimed Seven Realms series a generation later, this is a thrilling story of dark magic, chilling threats, and two unforgettable characters walking a knife-sharp line between life and death.

Book 2


A lifelong war.

Alyssa ana’Raisa is the reluctant princess heir to the Gray Wolf throne of Fells, a queendom embroiled in a seemingly endless war. Hardened by too many losses, Lyss is more comfortable striking with a sword than maneuvering at court. After a brush with death, she goes on the offensive, meaning to end the war that has raged her whole life. If her gamble doesn’t pay off, she could lose her queendom before she even ascends to the throne.

A life in peril.

Across enemy lines in Arden, young rising star Captain Halston Matelon has been fighting for his king since he was a lýtling. Lately, though, he finds himself sent on ever more dangerous assignments. Between the terrifying rumors of witches and wolfish warriors to the north and his cruel king at home, Hal is caught in an impossible game of life and death.

The shadow of defeat.

Click the links to buy Stormcaster on  Amazon or signed copies from The Learned Owl Bookshop.

Cinda Williams Chima

Cinda Williams Chima – Official Biography (found on her author  website.)

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Cinda Williams Chima
grew up with talking animals and kick-butt Barbies. She began writing poetry and
stories in third grade and novels in junior high school. These days she writes fantasy
fiction for teens of all ages.
Her Heir Chronicles contemporary fantasy series includes The Warrior Heir
(2006), The Wizard Heir (2007), The Dragon Heir (2008), The Enchanter Heir (2013)
and The Sorcerer Heir (2014).
Chima’s high fantasy Seven Realms series launched with The Demon King
(2009), followed by The Exiled Queen (September, 2010) The Gray Wolf Throne
(2011) and The Crimson Crown (2012).
Both series have been New York Times bestsellers.
Chima’s Shattered Realms high fantasy series is forthcoming from
HarperCollins. The first novel, Flamecaster, is scheduled for Spring, 2016.
Chima’s books have received starred reviews in Kirkus and VOYA, among
others. They have been named Booksense and Indie Next picks, an International
Reading Association Young Adult Choice, a New York Public Library Book for the
Teen Age, to the Kirkus Best YA list, and the VOYA Editors’ Choice, Best Science
Fiction, Fantasy and Horror, and Perfect Tens lists. Her books also appear on
numerous state awards lists and won the Buckeye Teen Book Award in 2011.
Chima was a recipient of the 2008 Lit Award for Fiction from the Cleveland Lit
and was named a Cleveland Magazine Interesting Person 2009. She lives in Ohio with
her family, and is always working on her next novel.
Find Chima online at or
She is on Facebook at and on Twitter

What do you think? 

Are you excited to read Stormcaster? 

Have you read any other books by Cinda Williams Chima?

2 thoughts on “Stormcaster (Shattered Realms #3)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s